top of page

Participated in the Strathmore Rodeo

No I didn't get on a raging bull...but some of my paintings were entered into the Wine Cellar Art Show and Sale.


I have many people comment that my paintings look like photographs. For instance when I was buying the frames for two of my pieces for the show, the sales person kept saying "photos" when she referenced my work. It wasn't until we were paying for the frames, that we explained these were paintings. She was shocked!


This was wonderful to hear as it is my goal to help people see some of the details in my subject matter that we might miss or may take for granted as we walk through life. One of my friends, that I go out on photo shoots, always points out that there might be something behind us that is also worth our attention and perhaps a photograph is required! Are we missing the "forest for the trees"?


Although none of my pieces were sold, exposure was the purpose. Yes, there are wonderful artists and the public has many to choose from. However, as a fellow artist, the value of the time and the effort we put into our work doesn't always equate into a sale and that is the lot in life we have.


We still go into our rooms/spaces and work hard to produce pieces in hopes that there will be that person that buys something from wherever we may display our art, and that means one less painting to pack around.

All in all it was a good experience and nice to see the local artists participating in the event and the community supporting our efforts, while we pursue our loves and passions...art.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page