top of page

Wow!

I have completed so many things since March 22, 2020!


1) Helped ....kinda....build a deck.

2) Celebrated our Grandson's 18th Birthday - the only one this year celebrated - and Grad, which really sucked for him as this right of passage and celebration was NOT a very happy one.

3) Participated in a weekly (thankfully - as I needed the week) 30 minute art competition on a Wildlife Instagram Page that in no way were my pieces ever 30 minutes!!

4) Worked on posting on my Instagram page nearly every day - now this can be fun! Should I be funny, keep it simple, teach, engage the audience - all valid questions. I did start up "SQUIRREL SUNDAYS" to show that we all have things in our lives that take us just a smidge off of our paths and it is okay - my son's idea - thanks Kyle!

5) Went to Germany for a procedure that isn't offered in Canada.

6) Back to Canada to self isolate and to continue working on the art pieces that I started before leaving for Germany and being cognizant of the need to not overdo it. Changed my art room setup to accommodate the requirements for healing for the next 3 or so months.

7) It was a hard two weeks of isolation.

It was okay to be isolated during the government mandate when everyone else was, but a totally different beast when it is only the two of us isolating. We will make it if Brad decides to retire! ;)

8) Set up the new normal (home office) for my hubby and his work - now instructing from home for SAIT.

9) I am able to spend more consistent time in my art area. This has been an exciting time as I have been able to complete more with the extended pain free time. This being said, I was almost ready to pack it in as an artist. I spent more time recuperating from the pain than I was in doing my art. Even carrying my camera on a hike or outing was too much.

10) Connected with a local artist, that I admire, who works in Oils. A medium that won't see my hands dabbling in, but I am grateful for the time he took with me at his art show. Thanks Keith Andrews!

11) Had a wonderful chat with my honey about next steps. Should have written the insights down! Kidding...I remember.


(Only some of the highlights from March to now.)


As an artisan, it is sad for me to not be able to connect with potential customers. I am an old dog trying to learn new things, like social media and how to take myself to the next level by asking:

How could I attract buyers? Change my style? Or my mediums? Subject matters? Prints and/or originals? Which pieces? How many prints so the original isn't devalued? How to stop scrolling Instagram constantly? I spent a ton of time comparing my work with others and was getting, quite frankly, depressed. I kept telling myself it was to learn, which yes I have learned a TON, but I devalued my art style and work, it took away from updating my website, creating more work, and the quality time with my family.


I hope this finds you safe and happy, moving forward with your new normal, and being thankful for all of the blessings in your life.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page